REVIEW OF EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT CONSTITUENCIES

A statutory committee has been established under section 5(1A) of the Electoral Act 1997 (amended by the Electoral, Local Government and Planning and Development Act 2013) to make a report in relation to the constituencies for the election of members of the European Parliament.

In accordance with the 1997 Act, the Chief Justice has nominated the Hon. Mr. Justice Robert Haughton to act as chairperson of the committee. The other members of the committee, as set out in the Act, are:

- the Secretary General of the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government (Mr. John McCarthy),
- the Ombudsman, (Mr. Peter Tyndall),
- the Clerk of the Dáil (Mr. Peter Finnegan), and
- the Clerk of the Seanad (Mr. Martin Groves).

The committee is required to have regard to the following in making its report:

- the number of members of the European Parliament to be elected in the State as may be specified for the time being pursuant to the Treaties governing the European Communities – that number is now 13 (up from 11) following the decision of the European Council on 28 June 2018;
- there shall be reasonable equality of representation as between constituencies;
- each constituency shall return 3, 4 or 5 members;
- the breaching of county boundaries shall be avoided as far as practicable this is deemed not to include a reference to the boundary of a city or any boundary between any two of the counties of Dún-Laoghaire Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin;
- each constituency shall be composed of contiguous areas;
- there shall be regard to geographic considerations including significant physical features and the extent of and the density of population in each constituency; and
- subject to the above provisions the committee shall endeavour to maintain continuity in relation to the arrangement of constituencies.

The committee invites written submissions in relation to matters which should be considered in reporting on European Parliament constituencies. Submissions should be addressed to The Secretary, European Parliament Constituencies Committee, Room 1.65, Custom House, Dublin 1, or by email to <u>europarlconstituencies@housing.gov.ie</u>.

The closing date for submissions is Friday, 31 August 2018.

Submissions received by the committee will be published on the website of the Constituency Commission at <u>www.constituency-commission.ie</u>, and may be inspected by any person by prior arrangement with the committee in the Custom House, Dublin 1 (telephone 01-8882339) during the hours of 10.00 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. (Monday to Friday), until the conclusion of the work of the committee. The committee is required to present a report to the Chairman of the Dáil within two months of its establishment, that is by 24 September 2018.